BioTIME grew out of two ERC grants (AdG BioTIME 250189 and PoC BioCHANGE 72744) awarded to Professor Anne Magurran. The database is located at the University of St Andrews where three members of the core team are also based. The remainder of the team are currently based in Finland and Canada.

The wider BioTIME consortium comprises many of the data contributors to the database along with enthusiastic University of St Andrews students and staff who assisted with data collection and cleaning. There are 265 BioTIME consortium members based at institutions spanning 35 countries around the globe. The core team are shown below and include a featured member of the wider consortium who will change on a weekly basis.

Laura Antão

Amanda Bates

Viviana Brambilla

Cher Chow

Maria Dornelas

Ada Fontrodona Eslava

Anne Magurran

Faye Moyes

Cerren Richards